Iraqi children speak up in Guardian article

Iraqi children speak up in Guardian article:

Mahdi Abdullah, 15, building worker

“Six months ago I found a job in building. I get paid $130 (£89) each month. I left my education early, because I had to. My family has no money.

“My dream is for the stability here to continue and for poor people to find jobs and live their lives with dignity. I am not asking for fortune or treasure. All I want are simple dignities. I feel comfortable now because I have a job. I want to get married and provide for myself and a family.

“Basra floats on oil. It has always had a way of keeping the poor people above water. If it falls into honest hands, we can lift Basra further and move to a new stage of our lives here.”

Leave a Reply

